Rose’s Kitchen

Teochew Png Kueh

Teochew Png Kueh b

Skin Ingredients:

300g rice flour

100g tapioca flour

11/2 tbsp cooking oil

1/2 tsp salt

a dash of pepper

750ml water

Method:

1. Mix rice flour, tapioca flour, salt, pepper and oil with 750ml water and leave to soak for 4 hours.

2. Pour all ingredients into a wok and stir continuously over a slow fire until cooked. Remove dough onto tabletop and add in a bit of pink colouring. Sprinkle with some tapioca flour and knead well into a soft and pliable dough.

3. Divide dough into small portions. Flatten each portion of dough and wrap with a spoonful of the filling. Press into a mould and gently knock out the kueh and place on a greased steaming tray. Steam over medium heat for 10-15 minutes or until cooked.

Filling Ingredients:

300g glutinuous rice

50g boiled peanuts

30g dried prawns, chopped

30g preserved radish

3 dried mushrooms

Seasoning:

1 tsp pepper

1 tsp vetsin

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tbsp light soya sauce

Method:

1. Soak glutinous rice for 3 hours. Wash and drain rice and put into a tray. Add enough water to just cover rice and steam for half an hour or until cooked.

2. Soak dried mushrooms and cut into strips, wash ‘chai por’ and squeeze dry. Wash dried prawns and drain.

3. Heat some oil in a wok and fry the ‘chai por’, dried prawns and mushrooms until fragrant. Add the boiled peanuts, seasoning and the steamed glutinuous rice and fry till well mix. Leave to cool before use.

April 10, 2007 - Posted by | Desserts and Snacks

19 Comments »

  1. hi Rose, your peng kueh recipe is rather interesting. the dough is cooked in a wok. I learnt from my mother in law, its to use boiling hot water instead and to mix it with the flour..stir and set aside for 1 hour before kneading it into shape. even the way the rice is cooked is so different too. my Mother in law used to sell peng kueh, teochew soon kueh as a hawker to raise her family. its one of the dying heritage recipes which many people still don’t know how to make but love to eat. its nice that you go all out to document all these traditional food.
    God Bless you..!
    Love from Gina from Singapore

    Comment by gina | April 14, 2007 | Reply

  2. Hi Gina,
    You are so blessed to have a mother in law who can impart her skills to you. Perhaps you can share with us her recipe.
    Both methods produce equally good results but using your method (same as making soon kueh skin) is faster as there is no need to soak the rice flour.
    It is good to preserve these heritage recipes. I missed the Lek Tau Kor (a springy kind of bean pudding) which I have not seen for a long time. It was such a wonderful treat to have a piece of the cold pudding on a hot, sunny day.
    God Bless!
    Rose

    Comment by roseskitchen | April 14, 2007 | Reply

  3. Rose
    I have my own food forum. Join us there..free membership. you will see all my recipes there. all the heritage ones. complete with full photos too. I am in the process of archiving too. all the heritage recipes, hand-me-downs. including the most taboo recipe I know of, the home made Red Glutinous Rice Wine or Hong Zhao Jiu.

    Comment by gina | April 14, 2007 | Reply

  4. Thanks Gina.
    God Bless!
    Rose

    Comment by roseskitchen | April 17, 2007 | Reply

  5. What is “Vestin” please? What are suitable substitutes? What is it’s function in the recipe? Can it be omitted without affecting the recipe?

    Comment by spire | January 15, 2008 | Reply

  6. Vestin is actually MSG. but in powder form, you can skip it if you don’t like msg :D

    Comment by Alex | January 29, 2008 | Reply

  7. Rose,

    Excellent site. I do enjoy all the recipes here except I have not tried it yet.. it reminds me of my childhood. Please may I know what is preserved radish in hokkien? Is it tang chai or chai poh?

    cheers.

    Comment by Mary | February 19, 2008 | Reply

  8. Hi Rose,

    Thanks for sharing the recipes. I would like to ask if you have any good recipes for cancer patients as you were one before as my hubby now suffers from it. My heart breaks to see him suffer and thot maybe any food can lessen his pain? Please do advise. I would really appreciate it. Thanks a million and God bless you.

    Jean

    Comment by Jeanette | May 18, 2008 | Reply

  9. hi rose
    i want to try. but duno where to buy the tapioca flour it is the same as tapioca powder?

    Comment by jane foo | July 4, 2008 | Reply

  10. Hi Rose
    tks for the png kueh receipe. when we knead the dough can we
    use rice flour instead of tapioca flour?

    I have tried, its easy. can we mix rice flour and glutionous flour instead of tapioca flour, which I have understand, but i think its not easy its very starchy an comments or adv ?
    tks

    Comment by jennifer | August 12, 2008 | Reply

  11. Rose! You’re brilliant!!

    I was watching TV about this teochew traditional kueh and drooled all over, quite determined to make mine. I’m so glad that I found your blog!!

    I shall try, but first, I must find out what’s tapioca flour… Ahh… there’s lotsa homework to do!

    Understand that you’ve conquered breast cancer, congrats and I’m so proud of you that you fought hard. My, there’s so much I wish to find out about you! I shall slowly take my time. God bless!!

    Comment by Stardust | September 24, 2008 | Reply

  12. Rose,

    I just chance upon your website searching for ‘png kueh’ which is one of my favorite snacks from my childhood days. It is hard to buy them these days and even if you find them, they are not so good as those I have tasted. I would like to try my hand at making my own using your recipe. Wish me luck and thanks for sharing it with everyone.

    Comment by julie665 | February 28, 2009 | Reply

  13. Hi Rose,

    I tried your Peng Kueh recipe yesterday. It was so exciting for me because this to me is a very big project as nobody in my family can make kuehs or cakes. Aesthetically, I did manage to make it look like the real thing but the dough was a bit hard and it took so long to steam them till cooked. I followed the measurement of the flour according to your recipe. Wonder if the hardness is due to adding too much flour during the kneading into smaller parts as they tend to get sticky. Hope you can advise. I will try again.

    Comment by julie665 | March 2, 2009 | Reply

  14. Dear Rose,

    I operate a food stall in ang mo kio. Can I order kueh from you on a daily basis and sell at my stall?

    Thanks and regards

    Comment by SP Ong | December 28, 2009 | Reply

  15. Hi SP,
    Thanks for your enquiry. Ever since my dad passed away, we stopped making and selling kueh. We used to take orders for Kueh Belanda, Kueh Bangket, Kueh Lapis and Pineapple Tarts. They were a hit with our customers but my mum is too old and I’ve retired due to health issues. If you are still interested, I can check with my friends. Thank you once again for your interest. Best Regards.

    Comment by rose | January 3, 2010 | Reply

  16. ROSE, HOW COME AFTER MIXING THE INGREDIENTS FOR THE SKIN, WE HAVE TO LEAVE FOR 4 HOURS? ANY DIFFERENCE IF I BOIL IT STRAIGTHAWAY?

    Comment by angela | July 20, 2010 | Reply

  17. I like your blog and it is so informative. I am going to try out the recipe by using my new peng kueh mould. Thanks for sharing the information.

    Comment by Tina | March 17, 2011 | Reply

  18. Hi Rose,
    please tell me where to get suh a small cute mould.

    Comment by bonchichi | May 4, 2012 | Reply

  19. Hi Rose,
    Thanks to your blog, i tried out the rice cake recipe but leaving out the tapioca flour cos it tends to make the kueh stiff. Amazingly, it turned out fine ! Guess what i’m serving for breakfast tomorrow ? :)))

    Best Regards

    Comment by Lilian Lim | March 8, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers

