Rose’s Kitchen

Ang Ku Kueh II

Ang Ku Kueh 1Kueh Ku Mould c

Ingredients for skin:

300g glutinous rice flour

150g sweet potatoes

2 tbsp sugar

2 tbsp corn oil

250-300ml warm water

1/8 tsp orange red colouring

Banana leaves cut to small circles

Peanut Filling:

300g ground, roasted peanuts

150g caster sugar

some boiled water

Method:

1.  Mix ground peanuts with sugar and add in some water to make into a paste form.  Shape into small round balls of filling for dough.

Method for skin:

1.  Steam cut sweet potatoes for 10-15 minutes till cooked and soft.  Mash through a wire sieve and set aside.

2.  Sieve glutinous rice flour into a mixing bowl.  Make a hole in centre of flour and add the sugar, mashed sweet potatoes and corn oil.  Add the coloured water a little at a time and  mix and knead well until the colouring is even and dough is pliable.  If dough is too dry, add a little more water.  Knead till dough does not stick to the hands adding more oil if necessary.  Let dough rest for  20-30 minutes.

3.  Divide dough into equal portions to fit mould and roll each into a round ball.  Flatten each ball of dough slightly and add a small ball of filling.  Pinch and seal the edges to enclose the filling.

4.   Spread some oil over the dough and press into a kueh ku mould.  Knock mould lightly to dislodge kueh and place on a piece of banana leaf .

5.  Place all the kueh ku in a steamer and steam on high heat for 5 minutes.  Remove lid from steamer to let out excess steam.  Cover and continue steaming for another 5 minutes.

6.  Remove kueh ku from steamer and brush lightly with corn oil to prevent sticking.  Cover with banana leaves to keep them soft.

May 23, 2007 - Posted by | Nonya Kueh

31 Comments »

  1. Thank you for the recipe. I liked it very much. Keep up the good work..

    May God bless you.

    Comment by TSG | June 4, 2007 | Reply

  2. Thanks for your encouragement, will do my best.
    God bless you too.
    Rose

    Comment by roseskitchen | June 4, 2007 | Reply

  3. wow! Did you make those yourself Rose? Looks really professional, great job! However I think the ones I’m more used to don’t use Peanut as a filling, but instead, they use mung beans.

    -kat

    Comment by kariette | June 22, 2007 | Reply

  4. Kate, the real kueh ku not yet come out from hiding place.
    These are the ones imported from Malaysia. I always used the mini brass mould to make my kueh ku, they turned out so cute and so pretty. Have you tried the salty filling made with mung bean and ginger? wow, it tastes good too!
    Have a great day and God bless!
    Rose

    Comment by roseskitchen | June 22, 2007 | Reply

  5. Dear Rose,
    So nice of you to share your wonderful recipes with everyone. Sad to inform that I just get to know you only today, Lately I only have the free time to surf net as I am clearing my leave to retire on 1 Aug 07.

    I shared the same hobby as you, love to cook, bake and experimenting new recipes. Everynight, I have to read recipes before I go to sleep. Hope that I can learn from you to gain experience. Thank you.

    Comment by Lilian Tan | July 27, 2007 | Reply

  6. hi Lilian,
    So nice to hear from you. Wish you a happy retirement.
    Now that you will have more time to cook, bake and experiment new recipes, hope you can share notes with us.
    Blessings!
    Rose

    Comment by roseskitchen | August 3, 2007 | Reply

  7. Hi, I love cooking too, hope to try some of your great recipes….

    Comment by roihiah | January 26, 2008 | Reply

  8. dear rose,
    i just stumbled onto your blog. i hope it is okay if i feature the ingredient’s list for a project of mine? i’m doing one based on Perankans- food and culture. i hope that it is fine with you.
    it looks really good! i hope to try it too, well, when the holidays comes that is.

    thanks for sharing and i hope you’re in the pink of health!

    elroy :)

    Comment by elroy | March 17, 2008 | Reply

  9. Dear Rose,Hi!
    I am a 10 years old girl! My mother wanted to get a kueh ku recipe but cant get 1 since last year! I went to Yahoo and Yes! Finally, Let me found what my Mother wants! When I told her ! she is very excited and asked me to copy down the steps! So thank you..

    May god bless you. Good Luck!

    — Ji Hwee—

    Comment by Jihwee | March 24, 2008 | Reply

  10. :)

    Comment by Jihwee | March 24, 2008 | Reply

  11. And oh ya.. I Am jihwee. My mum say she thanks you and wish you good luck and may all your dreams come true!!! :P :) :P :)

    Comment by Jihwee | March 24, 2008 | Reply

  12. Now I’ve got your Ang Ko with sweet potato in it.
    Thanks again,
    Lily

    Comment by Lily Khoo | May 14, 2008 | Reply

  13. Hi Rose, thank you so much for sharing your Ang Ku Kueh recipe with us. Do you mind if I post your recipe on http://www.myhometown.sg forum to share with other people?

    Tks
    Belyl

    Comment by belyl | May 22, 2008 | Reply

  14. [...] for the red/green ’skin’ and it’s filled with beans paste or some like in this angkukueh recipe filled with [...]

    Pingback by Local Delights « Mysarawak’s Weblog | May 27, 2008 | Reply

  15. Hi Rose

    Just stumbled upon your blog today. A wonderful blog! Keep up the good work.

    Do you mind to share which shop can i get the angku moulds?

    thanks

    Comment by tan | September 16, 2008 | Reply

  16. Dear Rose,
    Have tried making the angkoo, ondeh2 from other recipe books but they don’t seen to be correct.
    Angkoo was kind of soft after being steamed, therefore they were not as nice as seen in your photos. Can you share with me as to why?

    Ondeh2 – kind of difficult to wrap the gula melaka and roll them in to balls. Gula Melaka tend to ooze out before I put them into the water…Wonder why?

    Comment by Viv | November 18, 2008 | Reply

  17. Hi Rose

    Wishing you a very healthy New Year!
    I found your websites by blessing. I went through most of the receipes and happy to say that I love most of them. Yet to try but will sure do the Yam Cake this week and will let you have my feedback.

    Will let you how it will turns up.

    Keep well!

    Comment by July | January 5, 2009 | Reply

  18. Hi Rose again: Where did you find the mini brass mould?

    Looks like you have lots of fan. I am sure I will soon become one.

    Blessings
    Patricia

    Comment by Patricia | January 10, 2009 | Reply

  19. Hi Rose, Gong Xi Fa Cai! Looks yummy. I will find time to try.

    Comment by Anne | February 5, 2009 | Reply

  20. Hi Rose

    Thanks so much for sharing your recipes. I so far hv tried making your kuih wajik n angku kueh I. It was quite successful but not yet perfect. Gonna try and when I have the time.

    God bless!

    Comment by Andria | May 5, 2009 | Reply

  21. [...] the box. There’s also red colored hard boiled eggs and “angku” pastries. (go to http://roseskitchen.wordpress.com/2007/05/23/ang-ku-kueh-ii/ for the [...]

    Pingback by Celebrating The Birth Of Baby Amber - The Budding Planet - | July 6, 2009 | Reply

  22. Hi Rose,

    Thank you very much for sharing the recipe. I tried a recipe from a cookbook and it was totally unworkable. I succeeded in your recipe with my first trial. Thanks alot!

    Comment by shirley@kokken69 | September 11, 2009 | Reply

  23. Rose,
    What can I use instead of banana leaf for ang ku kueh?

    Comment by Chung Koh | October 24, 2009 | Reply

  24. Hi,
    Do you mind telling me where I can get Ang ku moulds? If you know any online shops that would be great indeed. Thanks.

    Comment by Loo | March 16, 2010 | Reply

    • Hi Loo, I got them from Malaysia, I do not know where to get online.

      Comment by Anonymous | March 16, 2010 | Reply

  25. Hi Rose, nice to get in touch with you.

    Just got hooked to your ang ku . looks like quite difficult to make.

    Comment by katie | July 22, 2010 | Reply

  26. I am so happy to stumble on your blog today and found what I had wanted long ago – (Ang Ku Kueh). I asked it from a long time friend’s wife who refused to give it to me. Now thank God u are here to share all your recipes. God bless u.

    Comment by liew li li | November 29, 2010 | Reply

  27. Dear Rose,

    I tried your Ang ku Kueh recipe today. It turn out very good. Many thanks.

    Regards,
    Alice

    Comment by Alice | January 5, 2011 | Reply

  28. AUNTY ROSE I REALLY APPRECIATE YOUR KINDNESS TO SHARE RECIPES FOR EVERYONE…THX YEAH…

    Comment by ORKED | March 8, 2012 | Reply

  29. AUNTY ROSE ONE MORE THING IF U SAW MY COMMENT PLS ANSWER IT…WHERE CAN I GET ANGKU MOULD LIKE YOURS???

    Comment by ORKED | March 8, 2012 | Reply

  30. Those moulds are antique, you can hardly find them. You can find some of the plastic and wooden ones around.

    Comment by Anonymous | March 9, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 120 other followers

