Rose’s Kitchen

Kueh Pie Tee Recipe

Kueh Pie TeeKueh Pie Tee mould

Ingredients:
85g plain flour
150 ml water
1 dessertsp melted butter
a pinch of salt
a dash of ground pepper
1 egg

Method:
1. Sift flour with salt and pepper.
2. Slowly mix in the water and melted butter and mix well into a smooth batter. Sieve batter and let stand for 1 hour before use.
3. Heat oil in a small deep pot for deep-frying.
4. Dip a medium-sized pie tee mould into the boiling oil, remove it and dip mould into the batter covering only about 3/4 length of the mould.
5. Deep fry the pie tee cases in the hot oil until set. Shake off the pie tee case from the mould and fry until light brown in colour.
6. Drain pie tee cases on absorbent paper and cool thoroughly before storing in an airtight container.
7. To serve, put a small piece of lettuce into a pie tee case. Add a tbsp of filling and top with coriander leaves, prawn, crab meat, egg shreds, sliced red chilli and pounded peanuts.
8. Serve with chilli sauce.

Ingredients for Fillings:
1 medium-sized turnip
1 small carrot, shredded
2 cloves garlic, ground
1 shallot, ground
1 tsp taucheo
1/2 tsp vetsin
2 tbsp oil
salt to taste

Method:
1. Peel carrot and turnip and cut into thin strips.
2. Heat 2 tbsp oil and fry the ground garlic and shallots. Add taucheo and stir-fry until fragrant.
3. Add shredded carrot and turnip and fry well, adding a little water. Simmer over low heat until cooked. Add seasoning and adjust according to taste.

Topping:
3 eggs
6 tbsp water
a pinch of salt
2 tbsp oil

1 crab (boiled, shelled and shredded)
300g shrimps (boiled and shelled)
butter lettuce
coriander leaves
shredded red chillies
pounded roasted peanuts

Method:
1. Beat eggs with water and a pinch of salt. Heat 2 tbsp oil in pan and fry beaten eggs to egg sheet and slice fine.

Chilliies Sauce:
20 fresh chillies, ground
2 cloves garlic, ground
Juice of 4 limes
1 tbsp sugar
salt to taste

Method:
Mix all ingredients together and add salt and sugar to taste.

July 23, 2007 - Posted by | Desserts and Snacks

34 Comments »

  1. Hi Rose, compliments on your website…I really have a craving for kuih pie tee, so I need to know where can I find a kueh pie tee mold? (Singapore / Malaysia / London)???

    Thank you!

    Comment by Rami | January 29, 2008 | Reply

  2. Hi Rose,

    Can you purchase pie tee mould, a satay grill and the green bean mould and mail to me in New York, I can send payment to you by cashiers check/bank draft

    thank you
    joanne

    Comment by joanne wong | February 4, 2008 | Reply

  3. Hi Rose,

    Happy new year! Thanks a bunch for the kueh pie tee recipe, I tried it and it came out great. Thanks again

    Vanessa

    Comment by Vanessa | February 7, 2008 | Reply

  4. Hi Vanessa,
    So glad to hear of your success! Well done!
    Wish you and your family a very Happy and Blessed New Year!
    Rose

    Comment by Anonymous | February 15, 2008 | Reply

  5. [...] Kuih Pie Tee (Click Here for the [...]

    Pingback by The Laments of a Broken Hearted Silhouette » Blog Archive » Shen’s Pre-Birthday Dinner | April 4, 2008 | Reply

  6. Hello Rosie,
    This is the many times I have come back to your site, to try out your recipes.
    I have tried using small pastry cases to make the pie tee case, but they all turn out to be too thick and hard.
    I live in Cornwall England. Could you please tell me where I might buy a metal mould like yours ?
    Thank you for sharing.

    Ai Ling

    Comment by Ms Low Ai Ling | April 13, 2008 | Reply

  7. Hello..
    My question is about the PaiTee/Top Hats food that you had at your website. I looked around here at US Virginia and all the Asian store don’t carry this kind of tool to make the pai teel. Please can I ask a big favor I would like to order one tool for myself so I can make your recipe with out this kai tee/top hat I can’t make it. Please let me know how much and I will pay you for the cost with the handling and shipping too. I really aprreciate it so much for you helping hands.
    By the way I really love your website and Thanks for sharing a good recipes too..
    This is the only way I can get this is to ask you coz you lived there at Malaysia and I don’t no anybody else. I tried to look another blogger but lucky they don’t speak English it so hard for me to look.

    Please email me back and let me know it’s okay..

    Comment by Rose Mary | May 9, 2008 | Reply

  8. Dear Rose,
    Hello and hope all is well with you. Just to say a big Thank You for sharing your recipe. The pie tee hats came out good, crisp and tasty.

    Thank you once again and May the Good Lord always protect you. Take care

    Comment by Betsy Lee | May 26, 2008 | Reply

  9. Dear Rose

    Thanks for your website. It is great!!! I am residing in Canada. And I am desperately trying to purchase a Kueh Pie Tee Mould. I am hoping you can do me a big favor, to purchase it for me and mail it to me. Of course, I will pay for the cost plus shipping etc…

    Please let me know is this possible?

    Thanks

    Comment by Apple | July 17, 2008 | Reply

  10. Dear Rose,
    Your website is a wealth of fantastic recipe. Thanks for your generous spirit in sharing with everyone. I tried making the Kueh Pie Tee and it was yummy. But I did face a difficulty, I can’t seem to shake off the case from the mold. I had to use a fork and push the case off the mold. What do you suggest I should do? Thank you.
    God bless you always.

    Comment by Juliet Jas | September 12, 2008 | Reply

  11. Hi Rose
    Really great to find your website with all the comprehensive instructions and recipes! :)
    Like most other postings, I am dying to get my hands on a kueh pee ti mold in Singapore. Do you know where I can source them?
    Thanks very much!!

    Comment by Jo Loh | December 16, 2008 | Reply

  12. I got my mould in Singapore from Phoon Huat. Haven’t used it though.

    Comment by SH | January 18, 2009 | Reply

    • Thank you for sharing SH. I’ve been desperately looking for a mould too. The guy at Phoon Huat told me yesterday that they didnt have it. Will go back again when they are less crowded.

      Comment by AL | January 21, 2010 | Reply

  13. Hi Rose,
    Really great to find your website especially your pie tee recipe. I have the same problem like other postings to get pie tee mold. Can I get it in China Town in Singapore ?

    Thanks very much !!

    Comment by Diah Soebroto | March 5, 2009 | Reply

  14. Hi Rose, you know that i am only primary student!!!!!!!!I am really happy that my mom let me to do this is very fun i like to cook thing like u

    Comment by olivia | March 14, 2009 | Reply

  15. Hi Rose,
    Our batter(top hat) got stuck to the mould,
    althou the batter and boilng oil are according to
    recipe and instruction.Could it the mould ?
    Looking forward to your advice.
    Thanks\rgds
    Jason
    Penang

    Comment by Jason Ooi | October 11, 2009 | Reply

  16. Hi Rose,
    I came across your website as I really wanted to eat pie tee but not available here in Bahrain. We have to do everything. Just need a favour from u. Can u buy me the mold as it’s very unique and i cantfind it anywhere here. Drop me some line to my e-mail ya.

    Comment by Airin | October 23, 2009 | Reply

  17. Hi…. It seen very nice. I will try it. Thks .

    Comment by hoay chuin | January 26, 2011 | Reply

  18. where can i get that pie tee mould.

    Comment by hidayah | February 16, 2011 | Reply

    • You can buy from one of the ultensil stall inside the market. You just need to ask them.

      Comment by Anonymous | March 1, 2011 | Reply

    • From Chong pang market

      Comment by Anonymous | March 1, 2011 | Reply

    • Hello, are you still looking for the kway pie tee mould. I have one extra. Do you want it

      Comment by Joann | March 19, 2011 | Reply

  19. where do you get the mold… i need one a.s.a.p please

    Comment by karina | April 28, 2011 | Reply

    • I can help to get the pie tee mould – email me and I’ll send details.

      Comment by rajes75@yahoo.com | April 29, 2011 | Reply

  20. I just read an article about a new restaurant in New York whose specialty is Kueh Pie Tee. I would love to buy a mold and try the recipe. If anyone knows of a place in New York to get one I’d be thrilled. Thanks!

    Comment by Elizabeth Busch-Le Ne | February 3, 2012 | Reply

  21. Dear rose,, I hope you’ve in good health.. I tried this yesterday ,, after my 5th attempt I managed to do the case base on your receipe…the only issue how do I keep this case crispy (even after keeping in tight container) the next day it turn to be soft and not suitable.. appreciate for your comment….Yati- Kuwait

    Comment by Yati | February 12, 2012 | Reply

    • Yati: I suggest you wait till the casings are totally (100%) cool before storing in air tight containers. Any remaining heat in the casing can create moisture and therefore soften your hard work of kuey paities!
      Jaslyn – fellow follower

      Comment by jaslyn | December 7, 2012 | Reply

  22. 21.Dear rose,, I hope you’ve in good health.. I tried this yesterday ,, after my 5th attempt I managed to do the case base on your receipe…the only issue how do I keep this case crispy (even after keeping in tight container) the next day it turn to be soft and not suitable.. appreciate for your comment….Yati- Kuwait

    Comment by Yati | February 12, 2012 | Reply

  23. Hi rose, where can i buy Kueh Pie Tee molder here in San Jose, CA. or online order? thanks

    Comment by shenteria | March 26, 2012 | Reply

  24. Hi! I live at 34000 Taiping, Perak State, West Malaysia. This Pie Tee Mold can buy it at those traditional Chinese Shop who sell all the kitchen ware. You can find a lot of type mold to do Asian deserts like Green Bean/ground nut Kuih(Ang Ku Kuih), Pie Tee, Satay Grill, Tosai Pan, Nyonyak Kuih, Dip Sum Steam Rack, Kuih Kapik(Love Letter), Mayong(Indian dessert), variety Tart Mold and more…..

    If put some raw Sesame into the Pie Tee batter will more tasty. Put a few layer Kitchen Paper Towel in the Iron Container to suck the oil from the Pie Tee will keep it crunchy for a week. Arrange the Pie Tie layer by layer with Kitchen Paper Tower to arrange the Pie Tie. Let the Pie Tee cool down before tight up the container cover. Use tin Container is a ideal storage for Pie Tee. Eat with Garlic Chili Sauce is a more tasty. Brand : KG. Koh Garlic Cili Sauce(Malaysia) and red seafood sauce(sweet red sauce), and last put a 1/2 tea spoon fried chop garlic on top.

    +Pie Tee can serve with other ingredient like dried curry vegetables ( potatoes+tomato+carrot+Big Onion+curry powder+Assam Jawa juice )

    Comment by Anne Yee | June 7, 2012 | Reply

  25. I have learn a few excellent stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how so much attempt you place to make such a wonderful informative website.

    Comment by lista discoteca sotavento | November 7, 2012 | Reply

  26. Hi there would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using? I’m looking to start my own blog soon but I’m having a hard time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for
    something unique. P.S Apologies for getting off-topic but
    I had to ask!

    Comment by Ar500 Targets | July 21, 2013 | Reply

  27. […] the wonders of Singapore food. Top left: kueh pie tee (a crunchy little shell filled with a mixture of cooked daikon and carrots, topped with chili sauce […]

    Pingback by Oh Singapore | Olduvai Reads | December 14, 2013 | Reply

  28. Hi, i feel that i saw you visited my site thus i came to go
    back the prefer?.I am trying to in finding issues to enhance my web site!I assume its ok to
    use some of your ideas!!

    Comment by Marlene | September 6, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 132 other followers

