Rose’s Kitchen

Hainanese Chicken Rice

Hainanese Chicken Rice

Ingredients For Chicken:

1 chicken (about 1.8 kg)

1 large piece of ginger, smashed

3 cloves garlic

1 tbsp salt

1 tbsp sesame oil

1/2 tbsp light soya sauce

Method:

1.  Wash chicken and remove excess fat.  Stuff chicken with salt, ginger and garlic.

2.  Fill a deep pot with water making sure water level  is enough to immerse chicken.  Bring to a boil, and when boiling put in chicken and cook over low heat for 25 to 30 minutes till chicken is cooked.

3.  Remove chicken and drain liquid from the body cavity.  Retain chicken stock for cooking rice and soup.  Scoop out oil from stock and use for making chilli sauce.

4.  Add 2 tbsp salt to a big pot of water.  Dip chicken in and soak till it has cooled down.  Drain and brush with 1 tbsp sesame oil mixed with 1/2 tbsp light soya sauce. 

5.  Chop chicken into bite-size pieces and serve garnished with sliced cucumber, tomatoes and coriander leaves.

Ingredients For Chicken Rice:

600gm fragrant rice

700ml chicken stock

5 cloves garlic, minced

8 shallots, minced

1 small piece ginger, smashed

4 pandan leaves, knotted

4 tbsp corn oil

1 tsp salt

Method:

1.  Wash rice, drain in a colander and leave to stand for 10 minutes.

2.  Heat 4 tbsp corn oil over high heat in a wok.  Add minced shallots and garlic, ginger and pandan leaves and fry till fragrant.

3.  Add rice grains and stir-fry for 3-4 minutes.  Transfer to a rice cooker and add chicken stock and salt.  When rice is cooked, remove ginger and pandan leaves. 

Ingredients For Chilli Sauce:

10 fresh red chillies

6 cloves garlic

5 shallots

2.5 cm piece young ginger

chicken oil

juice of 10 limes

2 tbsp vinegar

2 tsp sugar

2 tsp salt

Method:

1.  Blend chillies with garlics, shallots and ginger.  Add vinegar, lime juice and chicken oil.  Add salt and sugar to taste.

August 12, 2007 - Posted by | Rice and Noodles

36 Comments »

  1. This website is soo lousy.My grandmother also know how to cook.so wu LIAO

    Comment by William Gan | September 3, 2007 | Reply

    • Hey, you came across and read people’s blog but commented that her website is lousy? You don’t do like unless you think you are very good. If you think you can do much better than she did, then prove it. I have no idea what you learned at school but I am sure that you must be hit hard on your head that you speaks with lack of knowledge. Please use your common sense next time.

      Comment by William Gan is a asshole | October 30, 2012 | Reply

  2. Thank you very much for your compliment. Guess your grandmother must be a very good cook.
    May the Lord bless you with wisdom and knowledge.

    Comment by roseskitchen | September 3, 2007 | Reply

  3. Dear WIlliam,

    If you think this website is wu liao, perhaps you shouldn’t poke your nose into it. Sounds like your grandma is great cook so maybe you can contribute by posting her recipes on line. I’m an experienced cook myself but I enjoy browsing this site cos I think the recipes are great and worth looking thro. I can always pick up more tips. Knowledge is never enough. Thanks, Rose for your efforts. Keep up the good work as I can see that many people are being blessed. God bless you for your blessing of others.

    Comment by Sally (Brisbane) | September 18, 2007 | Reply

  4. This is a great recipe! Thank you so much for taking the time to post all of these wonderful recipes for us to enjoy. I really love authentic Indonesian and Chinese food, but it is really hard to find the true recipes that mom and grandma would cook!

    I really appreciate your time and your knowledge in helping me put good, authentic food in my family’s bellies! :)

    Comment by Grace | September 20, 2007 | Reply

  5. Thank you Grace for your appreciation. It is true it is hard to find true recipes which we used to enjoy. Most families eat out these days that is why it is good to boil some soup at least few times aweek.
    Blessings!
    Rose

    Comment by rose | September 27, 2007 | Reply

  6. Dear Sally,
    Thank you very much for your visits and comments.
    I appreciate your understanding and am very encouraged.
    I hope to be able to get back to posting recipes soon.
    God Bless!
    Rose

    Comment by rose | September 27, 2007 | Reply

  7. I am told that my Hainanese Chicken Rice is the best. However I am always open as to how other cooks do their chicken rice and I benefit learning from them. You can always improve on your own stuff. You never stop learning and if you do, you are decaying. When you think you are the best, you actually have stop learning – this is for William Gan and thank you Sally for speaking up. Thank you Rose. May God continue to bless you to be a blessing to many others.

    Comment by Karen Loh | October 10, 2007 | Reply

  8. Hi Karen,
    Thanks for speaking up. I appreciate your understanding and encouragement. Hopefully, I’ll be able to put up more nice recipes asap for all to enjoy. Cheerio!
    Blessings!
    Rose

    Comment by roseskitchen | October 17, 2007 | Reply

  9. i am living in Perth and Hari Raya came along. I wanted to make an authentic kueh Lapis Legit and god bless you Rose, yours was absolutely fabulous. thank you so much for increasing my repertoire of dishes and cakes. i do believe that you do onto others how you would like others to do unto you. ignorant creatures lke William Gan eventually get what’s coming to them.it just really frustrates me seeing how people treat each other sometimes. god bless Rose! Keep up the good work!!

    Comment by Farah Talib | October 28, 2007 | Reply

  10. hi my name is xinhui and I knew of this website through Magdalene’s link.

    I have to say, you remind me of myself, except how I would be many years down the road. I am 18 year old dancer called Xin Hui who’s lifelong ambition is to be a dancer, but who would cook more if she had the time. I love healthy type of foods and I want to learn to cook and be a good wife. I think beauty = health! and what better way to health than through good food :D

    Comment by xin | December 15, 2007 | Reply

  11. Dear Rose
    You are such an enlightened being to give a lovely reply to William Gan who is so negative.

    To William, may you be blessed with positiveness in your life.

    Comment by Ai Lin | January 3, 2008 | Reply

  12. Hi Rose, am really impressed with your website. While I like to cook – except for an exercise book where I keep some of the recipes which my children like, I don’t have the patience to do what you’ve done. Your recipes look very good – and I will definitely be trying them out soon especially soups. William ought to be shot for his negative comments – he probably doesn’t even cook and depends on his grandma for food!

    Comment by Jane | January 7, 2008 | Reply

  13. Hello Rose..
    Starting from today your website will be my cooking bible. I finally found a website that shows home recipes.. Can I ask what soup would go well along with chicken rice…? Its my first time cooking…

    Comment by Brian Chang | February 19, 2008 | Reply

  14. Hello Rose,

    Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful recipes; I agree with you, good recipes well tried out should be passed to those who love cooking and getting results!

    I find your Pandan Chiffon Cake recipe mouth-watering, and as soon as I can find time, I’ll dig out all the utensils and give it a go! It’s NOT easy, but your recipe looks very “lemak’, it’s so tempting.

    I keep your site in my FAVOURITES list, God bless you Rose for your wonderful work.

    j

    Comment by Jennifer | February 25, 2008 | Reply

  15. Hi Rose,
    I find great delight at looking at yours’ recipes,interesting recipes , i like to cook for my family,and find the ingredients are easily available at markets, will certainly like to try my hands at some of the recipes, good works and keep it up, thanks and God bless.

    Comment by Agnes | March 11, 2008 | Reply

  16. TO William Gan,

    YOu are really Wu Liao… You must be so Wu Liao that u wander into a cooking website. Even more Wu Liao is you post such Wu Liao comment and i think you are very Wu Liao.

    Comment by Terence | March 12, 2008 | Reply

  17. Dear Rose,

    We are blessed to have someone who shares all these wonderful receipes. As my mom passed away before I am old enough to learn from her all the wonderful peranakan receipes, I really hope you have more of the delicious food that the restaurant do not have.

    As for William, I hope that all the positive energy here in this site will rub into you.

    Rose, continue spreading the warmth !!!
    God bless,
    Juliet

    Comment by Jude | April 1, 2008 | Reply

  18. william u are a total loser retard

    Comment by Amuse | June 10, 2008 | Reply

  19. Thank you for your recipes. I think I sure will come back to your website for others recipe.

    Comment by Yen | July 11, 2008 | Reply

  20. Rose,
    I am a Singaporean currently living in the States. I can relate to the food you posted here. Thanks for the receipe. I am sure that I can use some of them to comfort me when I feeling homesick. Keep posting. How about some Indian receipe?

    Where are you are from?

    Comment by Paul | August 13, 2008 | Reply

  21. Hi Rose, thanks for the recipe. I am a peranankan chinese living in syd… reminds me of my mum’s cuisine. Thanks for the wonderful recipes. God bless…bernard

    Comment by Bernard | October 16, 2008 | Reply

  22. Dear Rose,

    Thanks for the hainanese chicken rice. But I got a question which Im not really understand on the way to prepare the chicken. Some of the chef, they immerse the chicken in the cold water and bring it to boil until 20 to 30 min depand on the size chicken and then they quickly immerse the chicken in in the cold water with a little bit of salt n oil( I saw in the Singapore hawker stall).

    yeah, im actually trying to different the way of cooking.

    Thanks you

    Comment by Miew Chai | November 1, 2008 | Reply

  23. Dear Rose,

    just wanted to tell you that I tried your hainanese chicken chop recipe last night and it ROCKS so now Im gona try your chicken rice tonight.
    Thanks and God bless!

    Comment by King | November 12, 2008 | Reply

  24. Dear Rose,

    Thank you so much for sharing your recipes. I am a Malaysian living in the United States and it is impossible to get any kind of m’sian food. I miss all the hawker food that I took for granted. It is really hard to find recipes for the simple things like chicken rice and fish balls that I grew up eating.

    Once again, thanks for taking the time to share.

    Rubini

    Comment by Rubini | December 5, 2008 | Reply

  25. Dear Rose,

    I love Chicken rice and over the years I have never tired of cooking it. My recipe is slightly different and simpler (since I am a man). perhaps you can tell me if my way is wrong.
    I boil the chicken in pot with a whole garlic and slices of ginger until the chicken is cook, take the chicken out and rinse with cold water then rub some sesame oil over it.
    in the past, i have tried heating up the rice with minced garlic/sesame oil/chicken stock in wok before cooking it in a rice cooker, but I found it’s less oily and easier if I just dump the minced garlic straight into the rice cooker with the rice and chicken stock.
    As you can see, I have not used shallots, pandan leaves

    it takes me around 30min to cook the whole dish.

    JT

    Comment by ANg Kong | December 25, 2008 | Reply

  26. Dear Rose,

    I look forward to trying this recipe. My you be surrounded by positive people.

    I’ve had a few “Williams” to my site. I hope they find something creative or productive to channel their negativity.

    Keep up the good work!

    Comment by metrosupialdesigns | January 23, 2009 | Reply

  27. Dear Rose,
    I love “asam pedas”. Could you help me out if you have any recipes to share? Most grateful!

    Comment by anne | February 2, 2009 | Reply

  28. Thanks for the receipe. Its greats. I have never interested to learn cooking until recently and I am glad that I have found your site. Great sharing

    Comment by Mark | February 10, 2009 | Reply

  29. Glad i found your site cause your recipes are closer to our taste buds than those “kwai lo” trying to do local dishes. LOL. Will definitely try out some of your recipes cause recently have a passion for cooking for the kids. (maybe it is cos of the poor economic climate making it expensive to eat out).
    Keep up your wonderful site. and a big hug for all your effort.

    Comment by Rose | March 3, 2009 | Reply

  30. i considered myself a lousy avid cake lover and cooker but fail to cook delicious dishes but kept on learning to do something very special . thanks for your kind sharing that I succeeded in making my first pandan chiffon cake. its tasty but i have substitute the 170ml of thick coconut milk into 125ml coconut + 45 ml of pandan fresh juice .I even succeeded in making a banana chiffon using ur recipe, thanks again . may god bless you.

    Comment by sherine | April 25, 2009 | Reply

  31. hi rose,

    thank you for the recipe. I tried to cook the chicken rice.

    For the chicken broth, I use only 2 inch of ginger, two cloves of garlic and one pice of chicken maryland. I did not use whole chicken because it is too much.

    I use an electric rice cooker to cook the rice. I cook only two cups of rice. But when the rice is cooked, I find that it is not fragrant. Where did I go wrong?
    The rice did not taste fragrant and not as good as what we eat outside. I hope you can help me to understand why….was it too little chicken?

    thank you so much,
    cheers

    Comment by astud | May 20, 2009 | Reply

  32. Dear Rose,

    I am a Singaporean currently in Sweden. Thank you for the wonderful receipes that you had posted. Had tried cooking Beef Hor Fun and Hainanese Chicken Rice and they tasted very good. Never knew that i can cook the tasty Hainanese Chicken Rice which i had eaten so often in the 30years of my life (in Singapore) so easily. Will continue using the receipe for my guests in future.

    All the best to you.
    HZ

    Comment by Anonymous | May 20, 2009 | Reply

  33. Hi! Rose,
    Can your share soon kueh receipe with me. I would like to try it. I love cooking and I think you are great in sharing yr receipes with others. I happen to come across your site accidently. Not many people will actual explain clearly their receipes. Thank you
    May god bless you
    Nancy

    Comment by Nancy Khoo | June 10, 2009 | Reply

  34. Hi Rose!
    Thank you so much for all of your wonderful recipes that remind me of my many years spent in Singapore. I have a question about the black sauce for the chicken rice. I don’t believe its sold in stores here in in the US. Is there anything I can do to my soya sauce to make it into black sauce? Also, in your recipe for kueh lapis you call for mixed spices. I don’t know what that is and I was hoping you would help me with that because I am dying for kueh lapis! Thank you for all of your great , insightful recipes. Best Wishes and Happy Writing!
    Angela

    Comment by Angie | October 29, 2009 | Reply

  35. OMG SUCH IMMATURE OF THAT WILLIAM .. Btw it has been years since my mum and i had tried to make a chicken rice, but the result were tremendously worst …. thanks for your recipe now we can make a chicken rice !!!

    Comment by fadzreezul | May 9, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers

