Rose’s Kitchen

Kueh Sarlat

Kueh Sarlat

Ingredients for Pulut:

600g glutinous rice

300ml thin coconut milk

150ml thick coconut milk

2 tsp sugar

1 tsp salt

2 pandan leaves

Method:

1.  Wash and soak glutinous rice overnight.  Drain and place rice in a steaming tray, top with pandan leaves and steam over high heat for 15 minutes.

2.  Add 300ml thin coconut milk  to steamed rice, mix well and steam for another 10 minutes.  Add the thick coconut milk, mix well then sprinkle rice with some blue colouring and steam for a further 5 minutes. 

3.  Line the bottom of a 28 cm round tray with banana leaf.  Transfer steamed rice to tray and press rice down firmly with a piece of banana leaf  or a plastic spatula.  Steam tray of glutinous rice over boiling water for 15 minutes before adding the custard topping. 

Custard Topping:

10 eggs

450g castor sugar

500ml thick coconut milk

6 level tbsp plain flour

1 level tbsp rice flour

1/4 tsp salt

2 tbsp pandan juice

1 tsp apple green colouring

Method:

1.  Stir eggs with sugar till sugar dissolves and strain into a double boiler. 

2.  Sift rice flour and plain flour into a big bowl, add coconut milk gradually and mix to a smooth batter then strain into the egg mixture.  Add salt, pandan juice and green colouring and stir well.

3.  Stir mixture over a pot of boiling water till it coats the back of a wooden spoon.  Pour custard onto steamed glutinous rice, cover and steam over moderately high heat for 15 minutes.

4.  Reduce heat to low and continue to steam for another 1/2 hour or till a small stick comes out clean when inserted into the centre of the custard.  Remove and place tray on a wire rack to cool completely before cutting.

October 4, 2007 - Posted by | Nonya Kueh

12 Comments »

  1. Hi, this is my first time seeing your blog. You’re food looks really delicious. I too am a foodie and love to cook/bake, it’s just so much fun!

    Comment by Joanna | November 15, 2007 | Reply

  2. Hi Rose,

    This dessert(?) looks amazing! As I am just learning to cook, I would very much appreciate the English name of this dish since I am not familiar with the name in ???

    Thanks much in advance!

    Sylvie

    Comment by learningtocook | January 3, 2008 | Reply

  3. Your kueh sarlat looks really good. I’ve tried making them using other recipes – taste is good but somehow or rather the custard always has indentations,not smooth like yours. I use only rice flour – do you think that is the reason? I’ll like to try your recipe – but will have to portion it much smaller cos there’s only me and my 2 kids who eats them sparingly…

    Comment by Jane | January 7, 2008 | Reply

    • Hi,

      Yesterday I was craving for kueh salat while me and my daughter were playing snow at our backyard. This morning I made it following the same recipe. In fact, this was my first attempt to make kueh salat in Germany. I was so happy that the pulut rice turned out to be very nice, important not too soft but as for the custard I was really disappointed. It was not smooth at all like how it should be, even I have used pure icing sugar instead of castor sugar to speed up and to disolve the huge amount of sugar. I do believe that a good recipe should also include clear and detail mixing method and tip to make a success.

      Comment by Chef Margie | December 16, 2010 | Reply

  4. Dear Rose,
    How do I prepare curry leaves to eat them with muruggu?
    I bought muruggu from the super mart and the packet contains fried green crispy curry leaves which taste absolutely wonderful. I tried to fry them in oil and they became black; I roasted them in oven and they do not taste like curry leaves..more like burnt tobacco leaves, etc. I have not yet try frying them over slow heat in a wok. Any tips you have on preparing curry leaves would be very much appreciated.

    Thanks very much in advance for your advice.
    cheerio!
    josephine

    Comment by josephine | February 27, 2008 | Reply

  5. Dear Rose, thank you for being so generous to share your recipes with us.I have tried the peng kuih that my friend made using your recipe and it was really good. I want to try the kuih Sarlat. Hope it will turn out well.Till then,bye.
    Betty

    Comment by Betty | August 12, 2008 | Reply

  6. Hi Rose,

    If I’m using coconut milk from a can/packet. How do I prepare thick and thin coconut milk? Thanks in advance. Your recipes look awesome!

    Comment by Zarina | August 20, 2008 | Reply

  7. Hi Rose – appreciate if you could advise on the portion of coconut milk in the tin that makes up 100ml of thick & thin santan respectively, as per your recipes.

    Thanks in advance.

    Regards,
    Manjeet

    Comment by Manjeet | October 7, 2008 | Reply

  8. wah! great site! yummy recipes. However as I’m vegetarian, appreciate if you can advice what I can use to replace the eggs for kueh-sarlat. Thanks!

    Comment by Viannie | October 29, 2008 | Reply

  9. Dear Rose..

    I love the dishes alot but I’m staying in australia n is not ez to get pandan leaves, is it possible or oki for me to use pandan essense and green colouring

    and how much is the 6 level tbsp of flour?

    and the whole egg we using or jus only the egg yolk???

    Comment by Miew Chai | November 1, 2008 | Reply

  10. Hi Rose,

    I made kueh sarlat today but the custard topping ended up like kaya (hahaha). As I dont have a double boiler, after I mixed the eggs and the flour (sifted), I strained the mixture and added them into a pot which was already boiling with the rest of the ingredients such as coconut milk, sugar, salt, pandan juice. I stirred the mixture over low heat but the next thing I knew, it became kaya. What do think I have not done correctly? And what does level tbsp mean? Thanks for advice. At least my pulut looked and tasted nice which was a consolation to me, heehee

    Regards,
    Gwen

    Comment by Gwen | April 21, 2009 | Reply

    • Hi Gwen,
      The topping for the pulut should be something like kaya texture. Just steam it and when it cooled down the custard will be firm.
      Good try. Regards.
      Rose

      Comment by rose | April 23, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers

