Rose’s Kitchen

Beef Hor Fun

Main Ingredients:

  • 150g beef fillet, trimmed and cut into thin slices
  • 350g fresh flat rice noodles (hor fun)
  • 1 tbsp light soy sauce combined with 1 tbsp water
  • 100g mustard greens (sawi), trimmed 1 tbsp oil
  • A handful of bean sprouts
  • 1 stalk spring onion, cut into 3cm lengths
  • 3-4 thin slices young ginger

Seasoning (A)

  • 1 tsp old ginger juice
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 2 tsp corn flour
  • 1 tsp oil (to be added last)

Sauce (B) (combined)

  • 1/2 tsp light soy sauce
  • 1/2 tsp oyster sauce
  • 1 tsp dark soy sauce
  • 1/4 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp chicken stock granules
  • 5-6 tbsp water
  • 2-3 tsp corn flour

Method
Marinate beef with (A) and set aside for 20–25 minutes.

Bring water to a boil in a wok, add in marinated beef and scald for 4-5 minutes. Drain the meat and leave aside.

Heat wok with 1 tablespoon oil and swirl the wok around so that the oil coats the pan well. Use the spatula to remove any excess oil, then add in the rice noodles. Fry the noodles briskly in the hot wok for 1–2 minutes. Add the combined soy sauce mixture and fry the noodles well. Dish out and place on a serving platter.

Heat a clean wok with 1 tablespoon oil and stir-fry mustard greens and beansprouts for 30–40 seconds. Remove and place around the noodles.

Reheat wok with a little oil and fry ginger slices until fragrant. Add in combined sauce ingredients (B). Return the pre-cooked beef and fry briskly. Add a dash of sesame oil and a little more oil to glaze the gravy. Pour the gravy and beef over the noodles and serve immediately.

Remarks:
I just had Beef Hor Fun for dinner today, so I thought I would look up the recipe and post it. One of my all-time favourites. I usually like to add extra sliced chilli and soy sauce. I like the starchy gravy and it is so important that the beef is tender. The ginger just goes so well with the Beef, I wish the Thai place I ordered from had it!

March 20, 2008 - Posted by | Rice and Noodles

10 Comments »

  1. hi Rose,

    I missed your postings and recipes. Thank you so much for sharing and good to see you back!!!

    Comment by MM | March 21, 2008 | Reply

  2. Am so glad you posted this recipe. My friends and I always order this dish at the chinese restaurant across our workplace. Twice I tried to duplicate it, but there’s seems to be something missing. I’ll try your recipe and see what it tastes like. Thanks.

    Comment by Erlinda | March 24, 2008 | Reply

  3. I am inspired by your spirit. I also diagnose as you are. God bless u Rose and thank you and your recipes . It is very interesting. Cooking and baking is my hobby also. Do you think we eat too much of these food. How are you now as for me my 2nd time doing chemotherapy now.

    Comment by happy june | April 9, 2008 | Reply

  4. thanks for this recipe! i was just wondering, is it really ok to scald the beef slices for 40-45minutes? won’t the beef become too tough and overcooked? i’m a novice cook, sorry if it sounds too obvious!

    Comment by jessica | April 26, 2008 | Reply

  5. I am a little confused. You mentioned when frying the noodles to add the combined soy sauce mixture to it. Then again in the last paragraph in final step for the beef, you mentioned adding (B) again. This is a recipe I would love to try, but need clarification first. Thank you.

    Comment by Rosemary | August 12, 2008 | Reply

  6. Hi Rose,

    I am Rosemary’s sister. She was really excited to have found your site and I must say it is fabulous to know that I can try making some of these delicious recipes my sisters and I talk about but don’t really make! The first recipe which really struck me was the har kow. The ones I buy here in France haven’t got whole shrimps in them. My daughter Melanie loves them (with whole shrimps in them) and there are not many things she craves for! I try to make the pastry with a ready made flour but on several attempts have found that the pastry breaks up very easily when you wrap the prawns in it. Any tips? Thank you so much for sharing your recipes with us. You have made a lot of people happy.

    Agnes

    Comment by agnes | August 13, 2008 | Reply

  7. Fantastic! I love beef hor fun so will give it a try!

    Comment by Daniel | September 23, 2008 | Reply

  8. Rose, II tried the Almond Sugar cake recipe. It was great. I live in Portland, Oregon. Where do you live? I liked the taste combination of your Sweet Potato Soup. We have a few different types of root crops here. I tried it with yams, sweet potatoes and added parsnips and rutabega. the ginger gives it a great taste! Thanks. Colleen

    Comment by Colleen Pulley | September 18, 2009 | Reply

  9. [...] and Prawn Fried Rice and I pushed the boat out (after checking that the boat had no nuts) and had Beef Hor Fun. Don’t ask me what it was (I just googled it and this women seems to know though: [...]

    Pingback by The Dougan's Blog » Singapore… | November 12, 2009 | Reply

  10. i luv e receipe!thk u

    Comment by Anonymous | July 23, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 131 other followers

