Rose’s Kitchen

Har Kow (Shrimp Dumplings) Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 125 g Wheat starch
  • 1/2 cup boiling water
  • 1 tablespoon cornflour
  • 1 teaspoon lard

Filling:

  • 1/2 egg white
  • 300g Shelled shrimps
  • 30g bamboo shoots

Seasoning:

  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon sesame oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cornflour

Method:
Pastry -

  • Sift the wheat starch and cornflour into mixing bowl, pour in the boiling water and stir vigorously into a paste.
  • Remove on to a table and allow to stand for 1 minute, then add the lard and knead into a soft dough.
  • Roll into a long strip and cut into 32 equal portions.

Filling -

  • Dice the shrimps.
  • Shred the bamboo shoots finely.
  • Place both filling ingredients into a bowl.
  • Add the egg white, salt, sugar and pepper and mix well.
  • Then add the cornflour and pound the mixture until firm.
  • Keep in the refrigerator for 30 minutes.

To complete -

  • Roll each portion of dough into a small round.
  • Place the filling on the round and wrap up with 6 pleats on each side, forming a bonnet-shaped dumpling.
  • Arrange the har kow in a greased steamer.
  • Steam over medium heat for 5 minutes.
  • Remove and serve hot.
March 25, 2008 - Posted by | Dim Sum |

11 Comments »

  1. This is one of my favorites. But the photo you posted does not show up on my computer screen. I wonder why.

    Do keep posting your dim sum recipes whenever you’re inclined. I like trying out different versions of Shrimp dumplings. The one I’ve tried uses whole shrimps, and the shape is more like a half-moon than cup-like with pleats.
    I actually bought pastry flour that’s just for shrimp dumplings (from Thailand). The pastry came out really luminous and you can actually see the pink color of the shrimp coming through.

    Thanks for posting your recipe. I may try it next Sunday for our potluck brunch. Regards.

    Comment by Erlinda | April 7, 2008 | Reply

  2. Hi Rose, I truly enjoyed your website. Always looking for something to cook. Really miss my hometown dishes. This is a great guide.

    I hope things are going well with you. Will check back soon!

    Comment by Dalicia | April 25, 2008 | Reply

  3. Hi Rose. Thank you for taking the time to share your recipes. I have been searching for so long for authentic Chinese dim sum recipes. I have a question: Is corn flour different from cornstarch?

    Thank you again for so generously sharing your wonderful recipes.

    Comment by Lori | May 1, 2008 | Reply

  4. Excellent menu and excellent good food.
    Happy weekend.

    Comment by David Santos | June 6, 2008 | Reply

  5. Oh wow, i’ve always wondered how they made this. I’m officially in awe. It looks incredibly time consuming but so worth it.

    Comment by thecoffeesnob | July 2, 2008 | Reply

  6. Hi Rose, I would like to try making the har kow but can I replace the lard with olive oil instead or any other type of oil. Thanks for sharing I wish you well.

    May Soh/Sept 3, 2008

    Comment by May Soh | September 3, 2008 | Reply

  7. Dear Rose,

    Can I actually use potato Starch instead of the wheat starch? What is wheat starch and where I can grab it?

    Comment by Miew Chai | November 1, 2008 | Reply

  8. Hello Rose,

    This look really great. I’m going to make this later on. Thanks for sharing.

    Comment by Ch3rri | November 3, 2008 | Reply

  9. Absolutely perfect folds! I bet that they taste wonderful.

    Comment by Jaden | November 25, 2009 | Reply

  10. i encounter 2 problems. One is pleating which is a bit hard to do compared to your photo as shown. The other is the dough (skin)that tend break easily during wrapping. I finally ended with a thicker skin and fold like a “half-moon” shape. Any suggestion is much appreciated. Thanks for sharing.

    Comment by ben phang | April 23, 2010 | Reply

  11. My friend give me your website, I am very interested in reading your recipes but not hand on, may be one of this day I will start.

    Comment by yoke sim | November 14, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 127 other followers

