Rose’s Kitchen

Huat Kueh

huat-kueh.jpg

Ingredients:

600g plain flour
500g light brown sugar
300g sweet potatoes
11/2 rice bowls water (450ml)
1 tbsp dried yeast
10 pandan leaves

Method:

1.  Remove skin of sweet potatoes, wash and cut into pieces. Boil with some water till cooked, drain and  mash till fine.
2.  Pound pandan leaves and extract the juice.
3.  Sift flour into a mixing bowl, add the brown sugar and mix thoroughly.
4.  Add the pandan juice and cooled, mashed sweet potatoes.
5.  Add in the water bit by bit till enough to form a thick batter.
6.  Dissolve the dried yeast in 2 tbsp lukewarm water, leave till foamy then mix with the batter.  Mix well, cover and leave to prove for 1 hour.
7.  Pour batter into  2-5″ round tins lined with banana leaves and steam over vigorously boiling water for 1 hour.

October 3, 2008 - Posted by | Desserts and Snacks

20 Comments »

  1. Hello Auntie Rose!

    Is there a precise measurement for the amount of water? Oh and “slightly dropping consistency” as in like muffin batter sort of consistency?

    Thanks:D
    Jermaine

    PS: I just found your wordpress today and I think it’s really awesome and authentic!

    Comment by jermaineng | October 5, 2008 | Reply

  2. hi Rose,
    since i found yr very good website, i have been visiting it regularly o search for easy and delicious recipes. your har gow post remained the latest post for sometime and i was worried something had happened to you (since u mentioned you are a cancer survivor).

    so to see 2 new posts this month really made me feel good. i am in abu dhabi and trying to please my children with some malaysian goodies, esp kueh kueh. keep churning out more, pls…thank you.

    Comment by deanna | October 14, 2008 | Reply

  3. Dear Jermaine,
    You can test the consistency by scooping up some batter with the palm of your had and let it fall back into the bowl. The batter should be thick but able to fall slowly from the palm.
    Rose

    Comment by rose | October 15, 2008 | Reply

  4. Thanks Deanna,
    Hope your family will enjoy the new recipes I have posted.
    Best regards!
    Rose

    Comment by rose | October 15, 2008 | Reply

  5. Dear Rose

    Please comment why my huat kuay wont ‘smile’. However they taste great. I proof the yeast with warm water and a bit of sugar. It proof well.

    Best wishes

    Comment by Dorothy Chan | October 17, 2008 | Reply

  6. Hi Rose,

    I was looking for a huat kueh recipe for a friend and found your site. It’s really great of to share your recipes. I too am a cancer survivor though I chose a home-grown herbal tea (recommended by another survivor) over chemotherapy and have been enjoying life for nearly four years since the doctor told me that I had about 6 months to live.

    I will be trying some of your recipes soon and will be happy to share some of my own favourites (AND details of my tea if anyone is interested to try it)

    Cheers!

    Suyin

    Comment by suyin | November 1, 2008 | Reply

  7. hi su yin, i am interested to hear more about the herbal tea that had helped u surviving cancer.my email add is deanna.yong@gmail.com
    thanks

    Comment by deanna | November 3, 2008 | Reply

  8. Hi Rose
    Just want you to know how well loved your recipes are. My sis tried your sugee cake for my bday and it was fantastic!!!! Thank you for generously sharing with us!

    Comment by maddie | November 8, 2008 | Reply

  9. Hi Dorothy,
    My huat kueh usually smiles beautifully. When steaming huat kueh the water must be boiling vigorously and make sure the steamer cover is tight. Try proving the batter a little longer, you can also dip a pair of scissors in some oil and cut across the surface before steaming.
    All the best!
    Rose

    Comment by rose | November 8, 2008 | Reply

  10. Hi Suyin,
    Thanks for sharing. I’m sure many will be very happy if you can share with us your herbal tea.
    Blessings!
    Rose

    Comment by rose | November 8, 2008 | Reply

  11. Hi Maddie,
    Glad to hear that you enjoyed the sugee cake. Happy Belated Birthday! Regards and blessings!
    Rose

    Comment by rose | November 8, 2008 | Reply

  12. Hi Rose and Deanna,

    Been very busy travelling up and down Malaysia taking part in Scrabble competitions and treasure hunts. Will be cooking my annual Christmas lunch (at least 8 dishes) for 25-30 of my blind friends and have come in here to pick some ideas :))

    As for the tea that’s keeping me well, it’s called strobilanthes crispus (check out the websites), pecah beling in Malay and black-faced general in Chinese. It’s widely-grown in Penang where one can pick the leaves for free and is also just recently being sold online.

    If anyone wants the plants, my husband has been cultivating them to give away. Feel free to contact me (012-4778048, e-mail pysuyin@yahoo.com)if anyone needs further info or just needs a friend.
    Cheers!

    Comment by suyin | December 16, 2008 | Reply

  13. Hi Rose,

    Forgot to mention – my friend in KL tried your huat kueh recipe. The first time, the kuehs smiled. The second time, they rose nicely but didn’t smile – she claims it was because I wasn’t there :)) Now she calls me before she steams them and it works! She is saving 20 ringgit every fortnight making them instead of buying them for prayers. She says thank you, Rose.

    Cheers!
    Suyin

    Comment by suyin | December 16, 2008 | Reply

  14. hi,auntie Rose,,i love to eat kee ah kueh,,and i try your recipe from your blog too,but unsuccesful,,maybe i got mistake,may i knw which alkaline water i have to use?white colour or yellow colour??how to make it Q.Q.?

    Comment by Rachael lee | February 4, 2009 | Reply

  15. Hi Rose,
    I thank you for sharing your recipe althought I have not try it,but I need a small favour from you whether you know how to make the Haianiese Coconut Kueh wrap with Banana leaf filling coconut and peanut and sasame seeds.
    I looking forward if any of the families members or friends would like to share the recipe.

    Comment by Susan Goh | February 7, 2009 | Reply

  16. Hi Auntie Rose,

    Tks for your nice recipe. Tried last Sat. My huat kuey ‘smiled beautifully. But I noticed that the kuey seems like it did not ‘huat’ all the way. The bottom half was quite thick and heavy. What seems to be the problem. I used instant yeast cos’ unable to find dried yeast. Proportion used is 1 : 1.5.

    Comment by Alice | June 22, 2009 | Reply

  17. Dear Rose

    I want to know do you sell your huat kuay, as I’m finding where to buy ? I need it for my house praying anniversay on this Sunday.Please advise.

    Thank you & Best Regards
    Celest Lee
    HP : 90184546

    Comment by Celest Lee | September 24, 2010 | Reply

  18. hi rose.i am curious about e herbal tea that help u beat cancer. can u enlight me more, most thankful

    Comment by leo | June 16, 2011 | Reply

    • Hi Leo, if you are referring to the lemon grass, just slice a stalk of it and put it into a mug. Pour boiling water into it and let it steep for awhile.
      I love it, it is very refreshing!

      Comment by rose | June 27, 2011 | Reply

  19. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this, like
    you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with a few
    pics to drive the message home a bit, but other than that, this is
    excellent blog. An excellent read. I’ll definitely be back.

    Comment by Tablet Keyboard | August 22, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 132 other followers

