Rose’s Kitchen

Nasi Lemak

Ingredients:

5 cups Basmatic rice

5 cups water

1 cup thick coconut milk

2 stalks lemon grass (crushed)

4 slices ginger

2 shallots (smashed)

4 to 5 pandan leaves (knotted)

1 Tbsp butter

1 1/2 tsp salt

Method:

1. Wash and drain rice and put into rice cooker.

2. Add in the 5 cups of water and 1 cup of thick coconut milk and salt and stir well.

3. Add ginger slices, shallots, lemon grass and pandan leaves.

4. Leave to cook in rice cooker, when steam starts appearing in rice cooker steam vent, add in butter and give rice a quick stir once. Cover and leave to cook till done.

5. Fluff up rice when ready and serve with  sliced cucumber, fried chicken, fried fish, egg omelette and sambal chilli (see cat. pickles & dip)

April 5, 2006 - Posted by | Rice and Noodles

5 Comments »

  1. Auntie, this receipe is making me very hungry 🙂 Is it ok to leave out pandan leaves? I don’t know where I can find pandan leaves here. I love nasi lemak but it’s inconvenient to get them from restaurants. Maybe I can try making a big pot this weekend for lunches for next week.

    This is a great site Auntie! Good job! I wish I have more time to learn making all these yummy food.

    Alice

    Comment by Alice | January 27, 2007 | Reply

  2. Hi dear, you can omit the pandan leaves. Don’t forget the sambal to go with the nasi! Try my crispy fried prawns and fried ginger pork balls, my children love them.

    Comment by roseskitchen | January 27, 2007 | Reply

  3. Oh wow, this is a *much* better recipe than my present one!!! The addition of the ginger and the lemongrass make it quite fragrant, can’t wait to try this!!!!

    Comment by Daniel | April 8, 2007 | Reply

  4. Dear Auntie Rose,

    I was searching for some nyonya kueh and found your websie. Thanks for sharing your recipes. I live in Canada and love to eat Malaysian food. My husband is from Brunei. I love to bake especially nyonya kueh

    By the way do you know how to make fresh noodle?

    Keep up the good work but don’t stress youself.

    Take care.

    Shirley

    Comment by Shirley | December 30, 2008 | Reply

  5. Hi Shirley,
    Thanks for your comments and encouragement. I remembered watching my mum made egg noodles when I was very young, will try and see if she still remembers how to do it.
    Wish you a very Happy New Year!
    Rose

    Comment by rose | December 30, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

