Rose’s Kitchen

Hainanese Chicken Chop

Ingredients:

200g chicken thigh, deboned

salt and pepper to taste

50g plain flour

1 egg, beaten

Oil for deep frying

Method:

1.  Clean and season chicken thighs with salt and pepper to taste.

2.  Coat chicken with beaten egg and dredge in the flour.  Deep fry chicken until golden brown.  Dish out onto a serving plate.

Ingredients for Gravy:

100g potato wedges

1 tbsp butter

1 clove garlic, minced

1/2 cup chicken stock

30g big onion wedges

50g tomato wedges

20g green peas

salt and pepper to taste

Seasoning:

40g Lea & Perrins sauce

30g tomato sauce

1/2 tsp cornflour mixed with

1 tbsp water

Method:

1.  Heat oil in a deep fryer.  Deep fry the potato wedges to half cook them.  Dish out and drain on paper towels.

2.  In a frying pan, heat the butter and saute the minced garlic for a few seconds.  Add the half-cooked potato wedges and the chicken stock.  Cook over a low fire for 5 minutes.

3.  Add the onion and tomato wedges and green peas and stir fry for a few seconds.  Add seasoning to taste and thicken gravy with the cornflour mixture.  Pour gravy over chicken chop and serve immediately.

January 22, 2007 - Posted by | Poultry

24 Comments »

  1. PLEASE can I have your Hainan Chicken Rice recipie you must have one.

    Comment by Pauline | July 6, 2007 | Reply

    • nl

      Comment by Anonymous | June 17, 2013 | Reply

      • no way

        Comment by Anonymous | June 17, 2013

  2. Hi Rose,
    I am happy and glad to know that u have recovered from Breast cancer. Just want to send u a good wish and thank you for posting all this excellent recipes online. I love to cook too and your website is just great!
    Take care and best wishes !

    🙂

    Comment by tongwooi | September 6, 2007 | Reply

  3. Hi tongwooi,
    Thank you very much for your encouragement. Hope you will enjoy the recipes.
    Blessings!
    Rose

    Comment by roseskitchen | September 7, 2007 | Reply

  4. Hi Rose
    thanks for your comment! I will try out your Chicken Chop recipe soon. Am travelling at the moment so the first thing I will do when I get home is visit the wet market. Thanks for coming by my blog.

    Comment by Krista | January 22, 2008 | Reply

  5. Hi Rose,
    This is my first time at ur website, i am interested to try out the hainanese chicken chop recipe, however instead of deep frying d chicken, how to go about if i prefer it to be grill? hope u r able to guide me 🙂 thanks a lot !

    warmest regards,
    marianne

    Comment by marianne | August 9, 2008 | Reply

  6. Hi Rose, i just went thru a couple of recipes on yr site and must say that they are so yummy. Thanks for everything. God bless u….bernard , bua tahan!

    Comment by Anonymous | October 16, 2008 | Reply

  7. Hi Rose,

    I quite intereted in the Hainanense Chicken Pork Chop but I don’t know where to get the lea & perrins sauce? How it look like?

    Thanks

    Comment by Karen | January 7, 2009 | Reply

  8. Hi Rose,

    Tried your hainanese chicken rice recipe two days ago and was excellent, thank you!

    As I am living overseas and dying of sambal chilli or nasi lemak chilli- i found some recipe that states that I need balachan paste as one of the ingredient, would you have a recipe for balachan paste?

    Thanks in advance.

    Comment by Eve | January 8, 2009 | Reply

  9. Hi Rose,

    Your hainanese chicken chop was great! My husband and I both loved it so much. Thanks for sharing.

    Comment by Jen | January 23, 2009 | Reply

  10. Hi Rose, I have been looking for this hainanese chicken chop recipe for a long time and I’m glad to have found it here. I’m going to try it very soon as my children love hainanese chicken chop. Oh yes, I’m a breast cancer survivor and maybe we can be friend. Take care and God bless you.

    Comment by maggie | February 8, 2009 | Reply

  11. Helo Rose,
    now i finally known that all this time, I was eating “Hainanese Chicken Chop”, the most delicious chicken chop..
    Thank u for your willingly to share this recipe. U r so generous.
    I’m a man, I’m a designer, and I’m love to cook.
    I can’t wait to cook and eat my Hainanese Chicken Chop more often hahahah.
    I’m only had a chance to eat it whenever I visit my parents twice a month..
    THANK U Rose. TAKE CARE AND GOD BLESS U AND UR FAMILIES.

    Comment by darth alon | April 16, 2009 | Reply

    • Hi darth,
      Thanks for your comments. God bless you too.

      Comment by rose | April 22, 2009 | Reply

  12. Hi Rose, good to know u won the battle against breast cancer. My youngest sis had cancer in ’05 too but thank goodness she is ok now. Thanks so much for the chicken chop recipe. Sometimes i miss food in Malaysia so when i hv my cravings, i search the net for recipes like these 🙂

    Comment by Deb | May 27, 2009 | Reply

  13. Hi Rose,

    This website is brilliant! I’ve lived in Perth for most of my life, but I often go back to Malaysia to visit family. I’ve recently had the biggest urge for Malaysian food and decided to google around. I’m definitely going to give this one a go.

    Thanks!

    Comment by Brendon | August 23, 2009 | Reply

  14. I am cooking this right now. It tastes quite good! I just have one question… it seems to be a bit heavy in the Lea&Perrin. Do you think adding maybe just a tbsp of kicap will lessen the acidity? Thanks… i am in the USA (but born in Malaysia)

    Comment by EKG | September 14, 2009 | Reply

  15. I am back again for this wonderful chicken chop recipe. Can’t wait for dinner time in a few hours. 🙂

    Comment by Deb | October 13, 2009 | Reply

  16. […] Chicken Chop adapted from Rose’s Kitchen and 3 hungry tummies serves […]

    Pingback by Hainanese Chicken Chop « Tamarind and Thyme | April 16, 2011 | Reply

  17. Hi Rose, im glad that you have recovered from cancer. A friend of mine tried your recipe and introduced me to your website. The Hainanese Chicken Chop looks delicious and i’ll definitely give it a try. You are so generous and thanks for sharing. May God bless you 🙂

    Comment by Anonymous | June 14, 2011 | Reply

  18. thanks for sharing your recipes so freely. i’ll be trying out this chicken chop for dinner today. Cheers!

    Comment by Anonymous | October 24, 2011 | Reply

  19. where,s the pic ?

    Comment by Anonymous | June 17, 2013 | Reply

  20. Great recipe, I just tried it, with some, slight modification. It taste good.

    Comment by Anonymous | October 30, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

