Rose’s Kitchen

Baked Tapioca Cake

Baked Tapioca Cake

Ingredients:

1 kg tapioca, grated

6 egg yolks

3 whites

340g castor sugar

400ml thick coconut milk

200ml evaporated milk

60g melted butter

1 tsp vanilla essence

Method:

1. Grate tapioca and drain off yellow liquid. Mix with all other ingredients and blend well.

2. Pour into a 10-inch square tin. Bake in a preheated oven at 180 deg C for 30-35 minutes or until done.

Topping:

200ml evaporated milk

150ml thick coconut milk

1 tbsp sugar

1 tbsp plain flour

1 egg yolk, slightly beaten

Method:

1. Put the coconut milk, evaporated milk, sugar and flour into a saucepan. Bring to a boil, stirring constantly to prevent mixture being burnt.

2. When thicken, add in slightly beaten egg yolk. Cook for 2 minutes.

3. Spread on top of the baked tapioca cake and broil at 180 deg C for 10 minutes or until golden brown.

January 26, 2007 - Posted by | Desserts and Snacks

6 Comments »

  1. Hi Rose. I’m very gald to come across your website and to read about you as we share the same passion of ‘sharing’. I wrote and published in Nov 2006, a recipe book called ‘Grandmothers’ Recipes-tales from Two Peranakan Kitchens’ featuring recipes from my twin heritage of Singapore and Penang, as I wanted to preserve these family recipes. The book did very well and my distributor wants me to publish another which I’m contemplating! Meanwhile, I’m giving cooking lessons to maids from my home kitchen as I believe I can provide a necessary service to maids and families to have good home-cooked meals! I’m not good at baking and when someone gave me some freshly-dugged tapioca, I decided to look into the net for a recipe and came across your website. I’m going to try this recipe and will feed back on it! It’s such a coincidence that we share a similar name, but I’d surely like to know where you come from! Cheers…Rosaline Soon from Singapore

    Comment by Rosaline Soon | April 5, 2008 | Reply

  2. hi auntie rose! thank you so much for sharing your recipes with the rest of us! the pictures of the end-products look so delicious! can i use tapioca powder instead of fresh tapioca? it’s a little hard to find where i live… thanks auntie! i hope you are well.

    Comment by liane | December 27, 2008 | Reply

  3. Hi Liane,
    This recipe uses fresh tapioca, tapioca flour will make it very starchy.
    God bless!
    Rose

    Comment by rose | December 30, 2008 | Reply

  4. hi Rose, how to make a fresh tapioca..coz like liane its hard to find a fresh tapioca here. thanks for sharing.

    lin

    Comment by lin | January 16, 2009 | Reply

  5. my wife does not like coconut milk. can i substitue it with other kind like cow milk or soy bean milk?tq.

    Comment by yuen | May 19, 2009 | Reply

  6. Hi Rose,
    this is Doreen. I just got a new maid and her cooking sucks. I read you give cooking lessons to maids. Can u teach her some usual home cooked dishes and how much do u charged?

    Comment by Doreen Choo | March 22, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

