Rose’s Kitchen

Chicken With Fish Maw Soup

Ingred Chicken With Fish Maw SoupChicken With Fish Maw Soup

Ingredients:

1 chicken

10 dried Shitake mushrooms

1 bulb garlic (do not remove skin)

2 pieces fish maw (about 30g )

3 slices ginger

1 tsp white pepper corns, crushed

2 litres water

Seasoning:

1 tsp salt 

1 tsp light soya sauce

Method:

1.  Cut chicken into serving pieces.  Wash and drain.

2.  Remove stems from mushrooms.  Soak mushrooms in hot water for 15 minutes till softened.  Wash and squeeze dry.

3.  Soak fish maw in hot water to remove excess oil.  Wash and squeeze dry and cut into small pieces.

4.  Bring 2 litres of water to a boil.  Add in chicken, mushrooms, ginger, garlic and crushed peppercorns.  Boil  over high heat for 15 minutes.  Lower heat and simmer for 1 hour  then add in fish maw.   Add seasoning  to taste.

February 3, 2007 - Posted by | Soups

6 Comments »

  1. Dear,
    We see you via internet, and we wonder whether you have imported Sea cucumber or Fish maw from outside. If you are interested in and wanna know further information, contact us through this email address: seller_hxexpco@vnn.vn.
    Many thanks and Best regards.

    Comment by Boo Nguyen | February 20, 2008 | Reply

  2. I’ve been searching the web for the meaning of “Fa Kow in cantonese” which I understand is kind of dried seafood used for making soups especailly in Hong Kong.
    The cantonese term for Fa Kow might not be the same in Malaysia as I’ve not come across any here in Malaysia.
    Maybe you could shed some light over this term and what it is.

    Comment by YK Loh | May 7, 2008 | Reply

  3. Dear Rose
    Is Fa Kow and Fish maw the same ingredient. A man at my grocery shop told me once that both are the same. But I am doubting it. Can you please advise.

    Comment by mei low | May 20, 2008 | Reply

  4. Dear Rose

    I have bought some Fish Maw which is “not fried”. The recipe book didn’t indicate whether I should buy the fried ones or not fried ones. After purchasing that, I followed the instructions in recipe and cut them up into 1 cm x 3 cm and soak them in the solution of 2 slices ginger, 2 spring onions, 1 tablespoon rice wine and 1 litre of water. I am supposed to soak it for 15 mins. My good! after 15 mins the fish maw is not even softened, then I soak it overnight in the solution. Now as I searched thru the internet, I found that I have to purchase the ones which is fried. Could you please tell me what am I supposed to do with those I have soaked. Shall I dry it up and then deep fried it until it become puffy and then wash it and cook it.

    I look forward to your reponse.

    Kind regards
    celeste

    Comment by Celeste Leong | June 10, 2008 | Reply

  5. try this

    Comment by Chee | July 30, 2010 | Reply

  6. hi there, nice recipes of you…
    i usually stuffing the fish maw with free range chicken paste n fish paste,
    it,s a kinda pricey stuff in my place..

    Comment by dedy oktavianus pardede | July 26, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

