Rose’s Kitchen

Fried Chicken Wings With Shrimp Sauce

chicken-with-shrimp-sauce

Ingredients:

10 chicken wings

Marinade:

2 tbsp shrimp paste (har cheong)

1 tbsp sugar

1 tbsp lime juice

1 tbsp Chinese rice wine

1/4 tsp pepper

1/2 tbsp shallot juice

1/2 tbsp garlic juice

2 to 3 tbsp cornflour (optional)

Method:

1.  Rinse the chicken wings and pat dry.

2.  Add the marinade and mix well.  Leave to marinade for 5-6 hours.

3.  Remove the marinated chicken wings and drain.

4.  Deep-fry in hot oil over medium heat for about 7 minutes, then turn to high heat and deep-fry until golden brown.

5.  Dish up and drain well.

March 14, 2007 - Posted by | Poultry

4 Comments »

  1. Hi Rose,
    I was wondering what shrimp sauce is? Is it har ko or is it belacan?
    Thanks

    Comment by Michelle | April 13, 2007 | Reply

  2. Hi Michelle,
    The shrimp sauce is actually a pinkish-brown paste which is called har cheong in Cantonese. It is sort of a creamy version of the Malay belachan but is imported from Hong Kong. They are sold in bottles in Chinese provision shops or some supermarkets.

    Comment by roseskitchen | April 13, 2007 | Reply

  3. How do I make the shallot and garlic juice?
    Thank you so much for this recipe, Rose.

    Comment by Cindy | July 17, 2008 | Reply

  4. Hi Rose,
    I came across your website when I was finding Kueh Lapis recipe. I’m amazed to see so many recipes at your blog!
    By the way, CNY is coming and I would like to do some dishes for my family during the eve. I was wondering what is shallot and garlic juice? How do I make them? Is it available in the supermarkets? If I were to make them myself, how many shallots and garlic I have to prepare?

    Thank you Rose!

    Comment by Ashley | January 14, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

