Rose’s Kitchen

Durian Apom Balik

Durian Apom BalikApom Balik Mould 2

Ingredients:

300g plain flour

30g rice flour

300g caster sugar

1 tsp baking powder

100g durian puree (optional)

8 pandan leaves

150ml thick coconut milk

250ml  water

3 eggs

a pinch of salt

Method:

1.  Wash and blend pandan leaves with the 250ml water and strain out the juice.

2.  Sift rice flour, plain flour, salt and baking powder into a mixing bowl.

3.  Mix sugar, eggs and durian puree with 150ml thick coconut milk.  Stir till sugar dissolves. 

4.  Mix sifted ingredients from (2) with 250ml pandan water to make a smooth batter.  Gradually add this batter to the

egg mixture.  Mix well and strain mixture.

5.  Heat an apom balik mould or a kwali until hot.  Reduce the heat and grease slightly with oil.

6.  Pour the batter into the mould.  Cook over low heat, uncovered, until bubbles appear on the top.  Cover with a lid and cook until the apom balik turns golden brown.  Remove from mould and fold the apom balik into half. 

April 22, 2007 - Posted by | Nonya Kueh

19 Comments »

  1. Hi Rose,
    Truly thanking for sharing your recipes with us. Yet to try but truly believe you have tried many times and given us your best. I truly enjoy cooking and eating and also share with many friends what I tried. Looking forward to try and thank for your great love and generous sharing. God bless.

    Comment by Mabel Ng | April 25, 2007 | Reply

  2. Thanks Mabel,
    Hope you will have an enjoyable time trying out the recipes and sharing with your friends.
    God Bless!
    Rose

    Comment by roseskitchen | April 30, 2007 | Reply

  3. Hi Rose! I was googling for apom balik recipes, and came across yours. It came out fantastic. Thanks so much! Will definitely try more recipes here. I’m from Penang, so it will be interesting to try out your char Kway Teow recipe.

    Comment by kat | May 10, 2007 | Reply

  4. Hi Kat,
    The best apom balik I’ve ever tasted was from a very old neighbour, a peranakan. I was too young then to learn the art. Anyway, this is the closest I can get. As you are from Penang, I will appreciate if you could give me your views on my Char Kway Teow recipe so that I can improve on it. Our local Char Kway Teow uses fish sauce and sweet sauce.
    With Best Regards!
    Rose

    Comment by rose | May 10, 2007 | Reply

  5. Hi Rose!

    This is Kat (logged in with my wordpress account). I am actually heading back to Penang when my school semester ends, and will actually get you a recipe for Char Kway Teow that the hawkers use back there. My mum has it! Recently the more famous Penang hawkers were approached by an independent publisher and a recipe book was made featuring their special recipes.

    Comment by kariette | May 16, 2007 | Reply

  6. Hi Kat,
    Thank you so much. So kind and wonderful of you to help.
    Guess your mum must be a very good cook too! Looking forward to hearing from you. Have a pleasant trip back home dear.
    May our Lord bless you with abundance!
    Rose

    Comment by roseskitchen | May 16, 2007 | Reply

  7. Hey Thanks so much Rose! 😀

    I love my mom’s cooking, but then, I am of course very biased! There are other websites I go to for recipes on food, one of them is http://lilyng2000.blogspot.com . I learnt to make my own salted eggs from her. (I really really love cooking/baking – some stuff I’ve made include mooncakes, egg tarts, char siew pao.. always trying to learn more). I’m guessing you’re living abroad as well? (From the pictures). It’s tough getting the right ingredients for many of these recipes sometimes… the local Asian grocer doesn’t usually stock Malaysian stuff, but more Vietnamese ones.

    hehe.. sorry for the long post, I am trying to write a paper, and procrastinating as much as I can!

    P/S: Are you originally from Penang? I see quite a few Penang-style recipes, and Nonya recipes here.

    and God bless you too! 😀

    Comment by kariette | May 16, 2007 | Reply

  8. Wow Kat,
    I really admire your interest for cooking and baking. I started very young, watching and helping my parents made kuehs. Their popular items were tapioca kueh, ondeh ondeh, curry puffs and nonya dumpling. Mum’s kueh kapit was fantastic but I dread doing it, I’ll rather make bangkit.
    I’ve not been to Penang since my honeymoon in 1970. The place must have changed a lot. Anyway, I love peranakan food and all the cantonese soup.
    You are right dear, the photos were taken in Paris and the Floral market in Provence while I was staying with my son. I’ve not travelled lately due to my weak legs.
    I do see a lot of Vietnamese stuff than Malaysian stuff but surprisingly, if you are in The Hague you can get a lot of stuff there like banana leaves, burdock, pandan leaves, lemon grass, spices etc. at the shops at Wagenstraat. I love the weekend markets and always vist my favourite fried fish stall at Delft. Holland is beautiful! Do visit the Kuekenhof Gardens.
    Blessings!
    Rose

    Comment by roseskitchen | May 17, 2007 | Reply

  9. Rose! My mum and grandma still makes kueh kapit during Chinese New Year, just for old times sake, although it’s been years since I have been around for Chinese New Year to help out (I usually am the back-up “folder” when my grandma takes a break). Do you happen to want the recipe for Kuih Kapik that my mum uses just for your collection? It’s very very good… not too sweet, just right! And I love making kuih bangkit! best part for me is dotting them with the small red dot after they are done!

    I hope your legs are feeling better! My mother also recently has problems with her legs, and I’m getting her supplements for her joints from the States, since I’m going home soon. I have an aunt who is a doctor in the states and she recommended a few supplements, so they should be all right.

    Penang hasn’t changed much actually, still a very slow, lackadaisical place… but retains it’s old world charm. The food is still fantastic though… 😀

    Cooking and baking is a passion! When ever I’m stressed I will try to make something, because for cooking/baking, you can see results almost immediately, and so delicious too… (It’s exam time now, so I’ve been baking alot, and eating, and getting very fat… )which is a pity because I am going back to Penang, but need to go on a diet!

    Cheers and God Bless!
    Kat

    Comment by kariette | May 17, 2007 | Reply

  10. Dear Kat,
    You are so interesting and lovable! You make me start craving for love letters. Will appreciate if you can get mummy to share the recipe. By the way, did you enjoy folding the love letters? My mum used to handle about 10 to 15 kapit moulds at a time and we had to roll them until our palms hurt. I love making kueh bangkit too and I still keep many fancy moulds. Will post the recipe some time.
    My legs aren’t strong so when I walk for too long a distance they caused me alot of stress. I have to go for my physiotheraphy every week.
    I have to go slow on milk and soya products so I’m taking glucosamine and some other supplements. Have to watch my diet too!
    Pray that the Lord will watch over you and bless you with wisdom and see you through your exams.
    Cheerio!
    Rose

    Comment by roseskitchen | May 18, 2007 | Reply

  11. Hehe! I still owe you the kuih kapit recipe! Big apologies… I will get it for you by hook or by crook!

    Many cheers to a most lovable you! Hope your leg is feeling better. 🙂

    Comment by kariette | June 22, 2007 | Reply

  12. Thank you so much Kate, so sweet of you dear. Thank God my legs are better and trusting Him for complete healing.
    How do you like the photos posted? Not professionally taken but tried my best. The apom balik cooked in the mould is thicker in the centre. The brass moulds are hard to get these days so sometimes I use an electric kueh bolu mould.
    God Bless!
    Rose

    Comment by roseskitchen | June 22, 2007 | Reply

  13. […] Thai kranom krok – coconut pudding (uses rice flour & coconut milk, like apom balik in Malaysia/Singapore), which can even be stuffed with mussels. Recipes here and here. (Don’t […]

    Pingback by Danish sweet takoyaki? « Main-Main Masak-Masak | September 26, 2007 | Reply

  14. Hi Rose, hope you are keeping well, just browsing hrough your wonderful website and found this Apom Balik recipe and would like to give it a try as i remember them eating them at my school tuckshop in Malacca. Unfortunately I am unable to get pandan leaves here in Germany, would you mind recommending a substitute or can I do away with it? Many thanks, annie

    Comment by Annie Cambell | October 10, 2007 | Reply

  15. Hi Rose,
    Thank you for all these wonderful recipes. This may be an ignorant question but do you put the apom balik mold in a pan and then cook the batter in it on low heat? I’ve never used a apom balik mold.

    Thanks.

    Melissa

    Comment by Melissa | June 17, 2008 | Reply

  16. Hi Rose,
    I had many bangkit recipes, but it doesnt melt in the mouth. What is the secret behind it? Can you please share your recipe? I tried many ways but it still not succeed.
    Thanks, May

    Comment by May Ng | June 22, 2008 | Reply

  17. Hi Rose,
    Do you know where can i find old brass kueh bolu mould? Many Thanks, Harry

    Comment by Harry | October 20, 2008 | Reply

  18. hi rose i live in endeavourhills victoria australia do you know where i can find old traditional kueh bolu mould and the modern version which runs on electricity i’ll be great ful if you email me i remember my mother is to bake these cakes for every x’mas

    Comment by sabina | June 7, 2010 | Reply

  19. Greetings Rose. I grew up eating just a plain sweet Malaysian apom, the kind that is crunchy around the side with a fluffy, spongy middle. Do you happen to have a recipe of this kind? I am trying to make some for my 3 year-old grandson. Thank you for all the recipes you have shared. Love your blog.

    Comment by Philip | January 5, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

