Rose’s Kitchen

Talam Nangka

Ingredients for Bottom Layer:

285g rice flour

2 level tbsp hunkwei flour

170g castor sugar

1 litre thin coconut milk

a pinch of salt

6 pieces nangka, chopped

Method:

1.  Mix rice flour with hunkwei flour (green bean flour), salt and sugar.

2.  Add 400ml coconut milk and mix well, sieve mixture.

3.  Boil remaining 600ml coconut milk.  When boiled, pour into the flour mixture and stir well.  Add in chopped nangka (jackfruits).

4.  Pour mixture into a greased, preheated 10-inch square tin.  Steam over high heat for about 30 minutes or until cooked.

Ingredients for Top Layer:

6 eggs

55g plain flour

2 level tbsp rice flour

425ml thick coconut milk

a pinch of  salt

Method:

1.  Mix eggs with sugar and stir gently until sugar dissolves.

2.  Mix flour with coconut milk and add a pinch of salt.  Add to the egg mixture, stir well and sieve.

3.  Stir custard over a pot of boiling water until mixture thickens slightly.  Pour on top of steamed Bottom Layer and steam over a medium flame for about 35-40 minutes.   Cool pudding thoroughly before cutting. 

February 2, 2007 - Posted by | Nonya Kueh

2 Comments »

  1. Hello Rose:
    Thanks for sharing your Kueh Talam Nangka recipe. I was thinking of making variations of Kueh Talams with fruit such as sweet corn, mango and jackfruit (nangka) and I was delighted to discover your website with this wonderful nangka recipe. I can’t wait to try it. I live in California and none of the bakeries here sell these wonderful kueh desserts unless you make it yourself. Glad to know that you have a large compilation of recipes and you are willing to share them. So, I really appreciate and value your efforts in doing that. I wish you good health and God Bless…Elizabeth

    Comment by Elizabeth | August 22, 2007 | Reply

  2. Hi Rose,
    This is my first time finding your blog while searching for ‘gao’or ‘kueh’ recipes.

    I’ve lived in Texas most of my life, so some of the ingredients you’ve mentioned are not familiar to me.
    Would you explain what are hunkwei flour & nangka used in this recipe? Could you please translate to English?
    Also do you know where I might purchase the molds you mentioned in ‘ang ku kueh’.
    I can’t wait to try your recipes. They bring fond memories of my childhood in Taiwan:)

    Take care, hope all is well for you.
    Ming

    Comment by Ming | December 11, 2007 | Reply


Leave a comment