Rose’s Kitchen

Lotus Root Soup

Lotus root Soup

Ingredients:

1 section lotus root

500g pork ribs

a handful of peanuts

20  red dates, stoned

2 litres of water

Seasoning:

1 tsp salt

1 tsp light soya sauce

Method:

1.  Remove mud from lotus root.  Wash clean and cut into slices.

2.  Blanch pork ribs in boiling water.  Rinse and drain.

3.  Blanch peanuts in boiling water, wash and drain.

4.  Bring 2 litres of water to a boil.  Add in the sliced lotus root, peanuts, red dates and pork ribs.  Boil on high flame for 15 minutes.  Lower flame and simmer for 2 hours.

5.  Lastly, add seasoning to taste.

February 2, 2007 - Posted by | Soups

2 Comments »

  1. Hi Auntie,

    I adore this soup and my dear mom used to make it so well. But I think she added oysters and dried octopus. Do you know of any other additions?

    Comment by Daniel | October 14, 2008 | Reply

  2. Hi there, You have performed a great job. I’ll definitely digg it and in my opinion suggest to my friends. I am sure they will be benefited from this site.

    Comment by plumbing supply houston texas | June 29, 2012 | Reply


Leave a comment