Rose’s Kitchen

Kueh Wajik

Ingredients:

600g glutinous rice
250ml water
300ml thick coconut milk
150ml thin coconut milk
300g gula melaka
150g sugar
6 pandan leaves
a pinch of salt

Method:

1.  Wash the glutinous rice in several changes of water and soak overnight.
2.  Spread the drained glutinous rice in a steaming tray and steam the rice for 30 minutes.  Add 250ml water to the steamed rice and mix well.  Add the pandan leaves and steam for a further 30 minutes.  Gently fluff up rice and set aside.
3.  Bring the thin coconut milk, chopped gula melaka, sugar and pandan leaves to a boil.  Stir continuously over a low heat till the sugar dissolves.  Add in the thick coconut milk, stir well and strain solution.
4.  Add the steamed rice.  Cook over a low flame, stirring continuously till mixture thickens.
5.  Spread the cooked wajik on a tray lined with banana leaves.  Press down firmly and smoothen the surface.  Cool till it hardens slightly before cutting.

October 15, 2008 - Posted by | Nonya Kueh

7 Comments »

  1. Dear Rose,

    I was planning to make this kuih wajik for the weekend. So while i was searching for the recipe, found your blog. The recipe method seems to be delicious. Sure I will try this one and will revert to you soon. Had put this site in my bookmark.

    Comment by Sashikala Mariesoosay | September 28, 2009 | Reply

  2. Dear Rose

    I must try to make dim sum for this week end.
    This recipe seems tasty and delicious.After I had done, then I will put my own comment about my cooking.

    Comment by nailee ak manday | March 16, 2011 | Reply

  3. Hello Rose, I’ve been craving for Kuih wajik for quite a while as I can’t get it here in Europe. Hahahhaa….and thanks for sharing your recipe as I’m going to try it out soon !

    Once again, thank you !

    Comment by Anonymous | February 27, 2012 | Reply

  4. thanks 4 sharing! i looking 4 this kueh 4 many year!

    Comment by Anonymous | March 14, 2012 | Reply

  5. Hi Rose, is this kuih wajik soft to the bite because I have come across the stalls selling wajik with hard grains that are not fully cooked. And can this kuih wajik be nicely cut into diamonds because some doesn’t keep the shape when cut. Please reply soon as I am eagerly waiting to try this recipe after failing few other recipes. Thank you so much. God bless.

    Comment by anonymous | October 1, 2013 | Reply

  6. HI ROSE. thank you for sharing. you are a blessing. i was searching for a good wajik recipe and found yours. will make it today n hopefully it turns out okay. will info you. do take care of your health and know that you are not alone. God is with you. God’s grace and mercy

    Comment by esther lucy justine | March 12, 2014 | Reply

  7. Hi Rose, I was looking for ways to utilise my pulut rice which my son cooked and he mistook the pulut rice for ordinary rice.Glad i found this recipe which save me from throwing away the rice.

    Comment by Anonymous | August 29, 2014 | Reply


Leave a comment